Locking a card is temporary, and the vendor can't charge you when the card is locked. Once the card is unlocked, you can continue using the same card for the vendor.
When you suspend a card, it can no longer be used again.
Lock the card when you need more clarity on the spend made by a User.
Suspend the card when you no longer use the service or when you know a fraudulent transaction went through.